India Prevails Over Sri Lanka by 41 Runs in Thrilling Asia Cup 2023 Super 4 Match

Colombo: India defeated Sri Lanka in the fourth match of the Asia Cup Super Four stage.

In the match played in Colombo, India had given Sri Lanka a target of 214 runs to win, in response to which the Sri Lankan team was bowled out for 172 runs in 41.3 overs.

In pursuit of a target of 214 runs, the Sri Lankan team encountered difficulties right from the start, losing wickets at crucial junctures throughout the game.

India’s left-arm spinner, Kuldeep Yadav, played a pivotal role, claiming four wickets while conceding just 43 runs. Jasprit Bumrah and Ravindra Jadeja chipped in with two wickets each, while Mohammad Siraj and Hardik Pandya contributed one wicket each to the Indian bowling effort.

Sri Lanka’s top scorer was the 20-year-old Dunith Wellalage, who managed to notch up 42 runs, followed closely by Dhananjaya de Silva’s innings of 41 runs. Due to rain interruptions, Sri Lanka’s innings concluded after 41.3 overs.

With their second victory in the Super 4 stage, India secured a spot in the finals of the ongoing Asia Cup 2023.

Earlier in the day, Indian captain Rohit Sharma won the toss and elected to bat first. Despite Rohit Sharma’s half-century, the Indian team faced a shaky start, courtesy of Sri Lanka’s emerging talent, Wellalage, who secured consecutive wickets. Eventually, India posted a total of 213 runs, with the Sri Lankan bowlers impressively containing India’s strong batting lineup over 49 overs.

The spinners were particularly effective for Sri Lanka, accounting for half of India’s batting lineup, including key dismissals such as Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Shubman Gill, KL Rahul, and Hardik Pandya.

Wellalage, a 20-year-old replacement for the injured Hasaranga in Sri Lanka’s Asia Cup 2023 squad, seized the opportunity to showcase his talent and ended up with a five-wicket haul, conceding only 40 runs. Charith Asalanka and Maheesh Theekshana contributed with four and one wicket, respectively.

India’s innings concluded in 49.1 overs, setting Sri Lanka a target of 214 runs to win in their allotted 50 overs.

Playing XI: India: Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Ishan Kishan (wc), KL Rahul, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammad Siraj.

Sri Lanka: Pathum Nissanka, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kusal Mendis (wc), Sadeera Samarawickrama, Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Dasun Shanaka (c), Dunith Wellalage, Maheesh Theekshana, Kasun Rajitha, Matheesha Pathirana.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *