Asia Cup 2023: Sri Lanka beat Bangladesh in super 4

Defending champions Sri Lanka began their Super Fours campaign in the ongoing Asia Cup 2023 with a strong performance, defeating Bangladesh by a margin of 21 runs.

According to ESPNcricinfo, In this Saturday’s match at the R. Premadasa Stadium in Colombo, Sri Lanka’s bowlers Pathirana, Theekshana, and captain Shanaka each secured three wickets as they bowled out Bangladesh for a total of 236 runs. Earlier, Sri Lanka posted a competitive target of 257 runs, largely thanks to Sadeera Samarawickrama’s impressive innings of 93 runs.

When Bangladesh began their run-chase, they had a promising start. However, after Mehidy Hasan Miraz was dismissed by Sri Lankan skipper Dasun Shanaka for 28 runs, they struggled to maintain momentum, losing wickets at regular intervals.

Following the departure of Litton Das, veteran batsman Mashfiqur Rahim and Hridoy formed a 72-run partnership, providing their team with a much-needed respite. However, Hridoy was soon dismissed by Shanaka after scoring 29 runs.

Hridoy was the highest run-scorer for Bangladesh with a courageous innings of 82 runs off 97 balls. Unfortunately, his efforts were in vain as Maheesh Theekshana took Towhid’s crucial wicket, turning the game in Sri Lanka’s favor. Bangladesh’s innings concluded at 236 runs in 48.1 overs.

For Sri Lanka, Theekshana and Shanaka were the standout bowlers, each claiming three wickets, while Matheesha Pathirana secured two wickets.

Samarawickrama was the top-scorer for the home team with his splendid 93 runs off 72 balls, including eight fours and two sixes. Kusal Mendis also contributed with a half-century, scoring 50 runs off 73 balls, supported by six fours and a six.

Hasan Mahmud and Taskin Ahmed were the top wicket-takers for Bangladesh, each claiming three wickets.

Notably, Sri Lanka has maintained an unbeaten record in the ongoing Asia Cup 2023.


Bangladesh: Mohammad Naim, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Litton Das, Shakib Al Hasan (captain), Towhid Hridoy, Mushfiqur Rahim (wicket-keeper), Shamim Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Shoriful Islam, Hasan Mahmud, Nasum Ahmed

Sri Lanka: Pathum Nissanka, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kusal Mendis (wicket-keeper), Sadeera Samarawickrama, Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Dasun Shanaka (captain), Dunith Wellalage, Maheesh Theekshana, Kasun Rajitha, Matheesha Pathirana

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *