Asia Cup 2023: Sri Lanka beat Afghanistan to qualify Super 4

On Tuesday, Sri Lanka secured a narrow two-run victory over Afghanistan in their Group B clash at Lahore’s Gaddafi Stadium during the Asia Cup 2023, earning them a spot in the Super 4 stage.

Afghanistan’s pursuit of a 291-run target ended at 289 runs in 37.4 overs, falling short of the required run rate to qualify for the Super 4. To advance, Afghanistan needed to reach 295 runs in 37.4 overs, but their last batsman, Fazalhaq Farooqi, unintentionally hindered their chances by defending three balls in the 38th over, eventually getting dismissed, instead of giving the strike to Rashid Khan, who had scored 27 off 16 deliveries.

The Afghan innings began with an impressive performance by all-rounder Mohammad Nabi, who scored 65 runs in just 32 balls, featuring six fours and five sixes. Nabi received valuable support from his captain, Hashmatullah Shahidi, who contributed 59 runs from 66 deliveries.

In the earlier part of the match, Sri Lanka set a target of 292 runs after winning the toss and choosing to bat first against Afghanistan in this crucial Group B encounter. Sri Lanka concluded their innings at 291-8 in 50 overs.

Kusal Mendis was the leading run-scorer for Sri Lanka, amassing 92 runs from 84 balls, featuring six fours and three sixes. Unfortunately, he narrowly missed out on a well-deserved century when he was run-out at the bowler’s end.

Sri Lanka made a solid start with Pathum Nissanka and Dimuth Karunaratne adding 63 runs in 10.2 overs. However, both batsmen were unable to capitalize on their starts and were dismissed for 41 and 32 runs, respectively. Charith Asalanka contributed 36 runs from 43 balls.

Towards the end of the innings, Dunith Wellalage (33 not out) and Maheesh Theekshana (28) combined to add 64 runs in 63 balls for the eighth wicket, providing a late boost.

Seamer Gulbadin Naib claimed 4-60 in his 10 overs, while Rashid Khan picked up 2-63.

Both teams retained their original playing XI for this crucial contest.



  1. Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk)
  2. Ibrahim Zadran
  3. Rahmat Shah
  4. Hashmatullah Shahidi (capt)
  5. Najibullah Zadran
  6. Mohammad Nabi
  7. Karim Janat
  8. Gulbadin Naib
  9. Rashid Khan
  10. Mujeeb Ur Rahman
  11. Fazalhaq Farooqi

Sri Lanka:

  1. Pathum Nissanka
  2. Dimuth Karunaratne
  3. Kusal Mendis (wk)
  4. Sadeera Samarawickrama
  5. Charith Asalanka
  6. Dhananjaya de Silva
  7. Dasun Shanaka (capt)
  8. Dunith Wellalage
  9. Maheesh Theekshana
  10. Kasun Rajitha
  11. Matheesha Pathirana

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *