Pakistan women beat South Africa, secure T20 Series victory

In the second match of the Three-match Twenty20 International (T20I) series at the National Stadium Karachi, Pakistan’s women’s cricket team emerged victorious against South Africa’s women’s team by successfully chasing down a target of 151 runs.

Despite losing an early wicket in the fourth over, Pakistan managed to secure a seven-wicket win with five balls to spare, largely thanks to a crucial 68-run partnership between Sidra Ameen and Bismah Maroof.

Sidra Ameen played an exceptional innings, scoring 61 runs off 44 balls, which included seven boundaries, earning her the Player of the Match award. After Ameen and Maroof were dismissed, Muneeba Ali and Aliya Riaz took charge and built another valuable partnership, ultimately achieving the target with five balls left. Aliya Riaz’s impressive performance with the bat continued as she scored 31 runs off 18 balls with a remarkable strike rate of 172.22, finishing the game with a six on the first ball of the final over.

In the first innings, South Africa’s opening pair of Laura Wolvaardt and Tazmin Brits provided a solid start with a 74-run partnership. Brits was the highest scorer for her team once again, contributing 46 runs with three boundaries, helping South Africa reach a total of 150/3. For Pakistan, Sadia Iqbal and Nashra Sandhu each claimed one wicket.

Here are the lineups for both teams:

Pakistan Women:

  • Sidra Ameen
  • Shawaal Zulfiqar
  • Bismah Maroof
  • Nida Dar (c)
  • Muneeba Ali (wk)
  • Aliya Riaz
  • Fatima Sana
  • Umme Hani
  • Diana Baig
  • Nashra Sandhu
  • Sadia Iqbal

South Africa Women:

  • Laura Wolvaardt (c)
  • Tazmin Brits
  • Marizanne Kapp
  • Sune Luus
  • Anneke Bosch
  • Nadine de Klerk
  • Delmi Tucker
  • Sinalo Jafta (wk)
  • Ayabonga Khaka
  • Nonkululeko Mlaba
  • Masabata Klaas

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *