Asia Cup 2023: Bangladesh beats Afghanistan by 89

Bangladesh secured a commanding 89-run victory over Afghanistan in the fourth match of the ongoing Asia Cup 2023, held at Lahore’s Gaddafi Stadium on Sunday.

In their pursuit of a challenging target of 335 runs, Afghanistan faced an early setback as Rahmanullah Gurbaz was dismissed for just 1 run.

However, Ibrahim Zadran and Rahmat Shah’s partnership of 78 runs provided some stability to Afghanistan’s batting. Unfortunately, Rahmat Shah was soon removed by Taskin Ahmed after scoring 33 runs.

Ibrahim Zadran continued to impress and reached his half-century, but his well-fought innings came to an end when Mushfiqur Rahim took a brilliant catch behind the stumps, sending Ibrahim back for 75 off 74 deliveries.

Afghanistan’s skipper, Hashmatullah Shahidi, played a captain’s innings, contributing 51 runs from 60 balls, including six boundaries. Nevertheless, he fell victim to Shoriful Islam.

Rashid Khan played a crucial cameo, scoring 24 runs with four boundaries, but his valiant effort couldn’t bridge the gap created by Bangladesh’s substantial target.

Playing their first-ever international match in Pakistan, Afghanistan kept losing wickets at regular intervals and were eventually bowled out for a total of 245 runs. Taskin Ahmed was the star for Bangladesh, claiming four wickets, while Shoriful Islam chipped in with three.

In the first innings, Bangladesh posted an imposing total of 334-5 runs, thanks to notable performances from Mehidy Hasan Miraz and Najmul Hossan Shanto. Despite losing two early wickets, Miraz and Shanto formed an outstanding partnership of 194 runs.

Miraz scored an impressive 112 off 119 balls before retiring hurt, while Shanto was run out after a well-compiled 104 off 105 deliveries. Captain Shakib Al Hasan also played a vital cameo, contributing 32 runs from just 18 balls.

Afghanistan now faces a must-win game against Sri Lanka on September 5 in their final group-stage match of the Asia Cup 2023.

Playing XIs:

Afghanistan: Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), Ibrahim Zadran, Rahmat Shah, Hashmatullah Shahidi (c), Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Nabi, Karim Janat, Gulbadin Naib, Rashid Khan, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Fazalhaq Farooqi.

Bangladesh: Mohammad Naim, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Shakib Al Hasan (cap), Towhid Hridoy, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Shamim Hossain Patwary, Afif Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Hasan Mahmud, Shoriful Islam.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *