Hockey 5s Asia Cup 2023: India beat Pakistan in penalty shootout

In a dramatic turn of events, Pakistan’s hockey team experienced a stroke of bad luck as they faced a penalty shootout against India in the final of the Asia Hockey 5s World Cup Qualifier held in Salalah, Oman. Pakistan lost to India 4-4 on penalties, culminating in India securing the championship after an exhilarating match featuring eight goals.

During the penalty shootout, Pakistani players were unable to convert any of their penalties, while Indian players successfully scored two out of two, clinching the title. Despite this, Pakistan managed to secure the silver medal by finishing as the tournament’s runner-up.

The match began with Abdul Rehman of Pakistan scoring the opening goal in the 5th minute, but India’s Jugraj Singh swiftly equalized just two minutes later. The Indian team then took the lead in the 10th minute when Maninder Singh found the net, but Pakistan quickly responded with another goal, leveling the game within three minutes of India’s score. The first half ended with a 3-2 lead in favor of Pakistan, with Zikriya Hayat adding another goal just before the halftime whistle.

The second half witnessed three more goals, with Arshad Liaquat scoring for Pakistan in the 19th minute. However, India’s Mohammad Raheel netted a brace in the second half, ensuring that the match concluded in a thrilling draw.

In the tense penalty shootout that followed the final whistle, Mohammad Murtaza and Arshad missed their penalties for Pakistan, while Maninder and Gujrot Singh successfully converted their penalties for India, securing the victory.

Throughout the tournament, Pakistan’s skipper Rana Abdul Waheed stood out as the top-scorer, amassing an impressive total of 27 goals. Additionally, goalkeeper Abdullah Ishtiaq Khan was recognized as the Best Goalkeeper of the Tournament.

Both Pakistan and India have earned qualification for the 2024 Hockey5s World Cup, which is scheduled to take place in Muscat, Oman.

Pakistan’s squad for the tournament included Abdullah Ishtiaq Khan, Ali Raza, Muhammad Abdullah, Ehtsham Aslam, Muhammad Murtaza Yaqoob, Arshad Liaquat, Zakriya Hayat, Rana Abdul Waheed Ashraf, Abdul Rehman, and Abdul Wahab.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *