Asia Cup 2023: Sri Lanka defeat Bangladesh by five wickets

On Thursday, Sri Lanka commenced their Asia Cup 2023 campaign at the Pallekele International Cricket Stadium in Kandy with a five-wicket victory over Bangladesh.

Charith Asalanka and Sadeera Samarawickrama both contributed half-centuries to secure the win for Sri Lanka. During their chase of a 165-run target, Sri Lanka encountered some difficulties, slipping to 43-3. However, Asalanka and Samarawickrama combined forces, adding 78 runs in 119 balls to keep Sri Lanka on course for victory.

Samarawickrama scored 54 runs in 77 balls, including six boundaries, while Asalanka finished unbeaten with 62 runs from 92 balls, featuring five fours and a maximum.

Bangladesh’s captain, Shakib Al Hasan, was the standout performer with the ball, taking 2-29 in his 10-over spell.

Bangladesh, after winning the toss, had set a target of 165 runs in the second match of the Asia Cup 2023. Their innings concluded at 164 runs in 42.4 overs, with Najmul Hossain Shanto top-scoring with 89 runs from 122 balls. Bangladesh struggled to build partnerships and had only four batsmen reach double figures.

Matheesha Pathirana was the standout bowler for Sri Lanka, claiming figures of 4-32 in 7.4 overs.

Sri Lanka’s squad faced challenges with several key players like all-rounder Wanindu Hasaranga and pacers Dushmantha Chameera, Lahiru Madushanka, and Lahiru Kumara missing the tournament due to injuries.

Meanwhile, Bangladesh suffered a significant setback with the absence of wicketkeeper-batsman Liton Das from the tournament.

Bangladesh, led by the experienced Shakib Al Hasan, also featured veterans like Mushfiqur Rahim, Mustafizur Rahman, and Mehedi Hassan.

Dasun Shanaka captained the Sri Lankan team, which included experienced players such as Kusal Mendis, Maheesh Theekshana, and Dhananjaya de Silva.

Playing XI:

Bangladesh: Mohammed Naim, Tanzid Tamim, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Towhid Hridoy, Shakib Al Hasan (capt.), Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Mehedi Hasan, Mahedi Hasan, Taskin Ahmed, Shoriful Islam, Mustafizur Rahman

Sri Lanka: Pathum Nissanka, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kusal Mendis (wk), Sadeera Samarawickrama, Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Dasun Shanaka (capt.), Dunith Wellalage, Maheesh Theekshana, Kasun Rajitha, Matheesha Pathirana

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *