Asia Cup 2023: Pakistan announce playing XI against India

Pakistan is preparing for a highly anticipated clash against their traditional rivals, India, in the Asia Cup, which is set to take place in Kandy on Saturday.

The Men in Green kicked off their Asia Cup campaign with an impressive 238-run victory over Nepal earlier in the week. It appears they are likely to maintain their winning combination, unless any last-minute adjustments are necessary due to weather conditions or the potential for a rain-affected game.

Despite some recent struggles with form, Pakistan is expected to stick with their regular opening batsmen, including Fakhar Zaman. The team’s captain, Babar Azam, is in outstanding form, as demonstrated by his remarkable score of 151 against Nepal. Mohammad Rizwan, the wicketkeeper-batsman, will occupy the number four position in the batting order.

There was a consideration about the inclusion of Saud Shakeel in place of Agha Salman, particularly in the middle-order, to counter the threat posed by India’s left-arm spinners, Ravindra Jadeja and Kuldeep Yadav. However, Babar Azam has a history of maintaining faith in his players, so it’s likely that Agha Salman retained his place.

After his first-ever ODI century against Nepal, Iftikhar Ahmed is eager to continue making significant contributions to Pakistan’s strong finishes in ODIs.

The final three spots in the lineup will be occupied by the dynamic fast-bowling trio of Haris Rauf, Shaheen Shah Afridi, and Naseem Shah, known for their pace and ability to trouble batsmen. Despite concerns about an injury during the Nepal game, Afridi is fit and ready to take the field against India on Saturday.

Pakistan Playing XI:

  1. Fakhar Zaman
  2. Imam ul Haq
  3. Babar Azam (Captain)
  4. Mohammad Rizwan (Wicketkeeper)
  5. Agha Salman
  6. Iftikhar Ahmed
  7. Shadab Khan
  8. Mohammad Nawaz
  9. Shaheen Afridi
  10. Naseem Shah
  11. Haris Rauf

Pakistan Squad for Asia Cup:

Abdullah Shafique, Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Babar Azam (Captain), Salman Ali Agha, Iftikhar Ahmed, Saud Shakeel, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Haris, Shadab Khan (Vice-Captain), Mohammad Nawaz, Usama Mir, Faheem Ashraf, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Afridi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *