India won the Asia Cup for 8th time

India secured their eighth Asia Cup title in a dominant fashion, defeating defending champions Sri Lanka in a one-sided final. In this Asia Cup ODI showdown, India effortlessly chased down Sri Lanka’s meager target of 51 runs in just 6.1 overs, ultimately winning by 10 wickets and clinching the title of Asian champions.

Shubman Gill and Ishan Kishan played pivotal roles in India’s victory, remaining unbeaten with scores of 27 and 23, respectively. It’s worth noting that India has now claimed the Asia Cup title a record-breaking eight times.

also read: Sri Lanka 50 all out, records lowest Asia Cup total in final

In the final match held in Colombo, Sri Lanka won the toss and opted to bat, a decision that would prove to be ill-fated. The start of Sri Lanka’s batting innings was delayed due to rain, but once the match commenced, the Sri Lankan batting lineup struggled immensely.

Sri Lanka’s top six batsmen were dismissed for a mere 12 runs collectively, leading to their entire team being bowled out for a paltry 50 runs in 15.2 overs. Indian bowler Mohammed Siraj wreaked havoc, taking 6 wickets while conceding only 21 runs, while Hardik Pandya dismissed 3 players, and one wicket was taken by Bumrah.

Notably, only one Sri Lankan player, Kaushal Mendis, managed to reach double figures with a score of 17 runs, while five Sri Lankan players failed to get off the mark, being dismissed for a duck.

also read: Muhammad Siraj’s Record-breaking ODI Bowling

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *